Alpha Showdown 2018 Nominations are Now Open


VBC: Home of Alpha ShowdownMy favorite event of the year is almost here! (Check out my Snoopy Dance!)

That’s right, it’s Alpha Showdown time! The time when the biggest badasses in the paranormal book world battle for bragging rights. Get ready to fangirl (or fanboy) flail all over your favorite characters!

Can you believe this is the 8th year for Alpha Showdown? Last year we had our first female champion, Kate Daniels from Ilona Andrews’ series of the same name. Previous champions include Kate’s mate Curran, J.R. Ward’s Wrath, Darynda Jones’ Reyes, and Karen Marie Moning’s Barrons and Ryodan. This year’s champ will have some pretty big shoes to fill!

And we need your help deciding who the contenders will be. Nominate your favorite characters who exemplify alpha status—leaders, warriors, general badasses. You may choose any character from any book, regardless of publication date, provided he or she is a central character in a novel with paranormal or supernatural elements (adult or YA, paranormal romance, urban fantasy, fantasy romance, etc.).

We’ll place the top 16 vote-getters into an NCAA-style bracket. We’ll have book bloggers champion the nominated characters and matches will be posted on this site where readers will vote on which character advances.

We’ll also have giveaways alongside every step of the Alpha Showdown. We utilize Rafflecopter widgets to handle nominations (below!) and the actual voting when the Showdown happens.


  • You can nominate up to three characters.
  • We’ll accept nominations through April 21, 2018.
  • Comments are encouraged (convince other people to nominate your favorites!), but do not count as nominations. Only those submitted via the Rafflecopter form will be considered.

And just for nominating, you’ll be entered to win the complete Kingmaker Chronicles by Amanda Bouchet. That’s all 3 books! And they’re SIGNED!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

72 Responses to “Alpha Showdown 2018 Nominations are Now Open”

  1. Ash says:

    AELIN GALATHYNIUS!!! I can’t even believe this series ends this year. Sarah J. Maas for the win! Also, while I’m at it – Rhysand from ACOWAR!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Powered by WordPress | Designed by Elegant Themes
Malcare WordPress Security