Review: Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes (Falling Kingdoms #1)


Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes // VBC ReviewFalling Kingdoms (Falling Kingdoms #1)
Morgan Rhodes
Published: Dec. 11, 2012 (Razorbill)
Purchase: Book Depository or Amazon
Review Source: Copy provided by publisher in exchange for an honest review

Reviewed by: Amy

Rating (out of 5): 4.5 stars

The three kingdoms of Mytica (Limeros, Paelsia, and Auranos) used to be united as one. That was long ago when the land thrived and people still believed in magic. Legends say that the separation of the Kindred, four objects that hold all the elementia (elemental magic), is the cause of the now-dying realm. To find and get the Kindred back together in one place would not only mean restoring everything to its lush beauty, but it would mean unimaginable power for the person who welds it.

Auranos is by far the wealthiest and most well off kingdom and therefore much scorn is directed their way by Limeros and Paelsia. When a Paelsian boy’s death is caused by the hand of an Auranos noble emotions are set to boil over as it becomes kingdom verses kingdom in a war that has been years in the making.

First off, this is epic fantasy. There’s a lot going down and a lot of different characters and plots to follow. A big thank you to whoever decided a “cast list” was needed at the beginning of the book. With that said there are four main characters to watch throughout: Princess Cleo of Auranos, Jonas Agallon of Paelsia, and Princess Lucia & Prince Magnus of Limeros. These four will hold the basis for the future movement of the series. Each come from a different kingdom and each has prospered and/or suffered and basically wishes for change in Mytica in some way, shape, or form.

Many would consider Princess Cleo, for all her beauty, to be a spoiled brat who always gets what she wants. She’s a witness to the Paelsian boy’s murder and, even if she would not acknowledge it right away, the event changes her. She starts to look around at what her life is really like and questions what she wants out of it.

Jonas is the younger brother of the murdered boy. He swears vengeance right away on Auranos, Princess Cleo in particular. He’s tired of his kingdom getting and having nothing. He’s ready for change, but with all his anger, he may just put his trust in those who don’t really have his interests at heart.

Just around her sixteenth birthday Princess Lucia has begun experiencing some strange phenomena. Scared of what is happening to her, she turns to her brother Magnus for help. Even though Magnus is heir to the throne, he’s always been at ends with his father. One thing for certain, Magnus as always loved his sister more than anyone (read between the lines here!!), but when an opportunity arises to get in the king’s good graces, Magnus must decide between falling into the darkness that already inhabits his father or to be a better man.

Yes, there’s a lot, but Morgan Rhodes very deftly weaves this story together building it layer by layer so when the true twists and turns begin to happen you’ve already grown accustomed to things. She plays fast and hard with her characters. No one is safe, and those that believe they understand the workings of the world truly have no idea of the deceptions that lay within, but you root for those that want change for the better. You want there to be a happy resolution at the end, and hopefully there will be, but this is just the beginning of a difficult journey. Of course it ends on a somewhat cliffhanger with lives hanging in the balance. I loved every minute of it.

Sexual content: References to sex

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Powered by WordPress | Designed by Elegant Themes
Malcare WordPress Security