logo

Early Review: Enclave by Ann Aguirre (Razorland #1)

logo

Enclave by Ann AguirreEnclave (Razorland #1)
Ann Aguirre
Published: April 12, 2011 (Feiwel & Friends)
Purchase at: Book Depository or Amazon

Rating (out of 5): 4.5 stars

Outsiders. Rigid, oppressive society. Zombies. So awesome.

This review could be one of our If You Like features, because Enclave is utterly perfect for fans of Carrie Ryan’s The Forest of Hands and Teeth. Being forced to leave home, discovering the shock that you can’t blindly trust those in power, sensory shock at life past city walls and discovering the freedom that comes with truth.

In this post-apocalyptic fantasy, people have been forced underground. Living in small settlements, most are lucky to make it to their mid-20s. With life-expectancy so low and limited resources, the enclave will only take care of the strong. You won’t even get a real name until you’re 15 and old enough to take on an adult role of providing, protecting or breeding. Yes, everyone is assigned a role, and some are determined to be best at producing more children. The elders decide who will breed and when. If you’re a hunter like Deuce, well, you’ll never get to kiss a boy.

And she’s fine with that. She’s proud to have finally made it to the point where she can provide for the colony. She’s a new huntress. She’ll travel the tunnels, bring back food and protect the enclave from the walkers. And all of that would be much easier if she hadn’t been partnered with Fade. In the enclave you don’t question your duties. You follow orders exactly, but Fade isn’t really one of them. They found him years ago in the tunnels. Normally, they would have turned him away, but the boy could fight.

The novel is divided into two parts, as Deuce’s life is changed by going above ground. Fade may be an instigator at first, but he’s a source of strength for her. Their relationship is that of survivors. They both know the truth of the enclave. And are discovering all the things about their world that just aren’t as expected. Fear of the walking dead had long been the scariest thing for Deuce, but she can’t blindly trust the living either.

It’s a harsh world, filled with sadness and shock. But the tale of Deuce and Fade’s survival, their relationship and their fight to stay human is utterly gripping. I read Enclave in a single sitting. Finished, I couldn’t decide if I wanted to read it again or start counting the days until the next one. Love the characters, love the plot, love the sense of hope in desolation.

I should add that this isn’t a zombie book. Zombies may act as a catalyst for plot points, but Enclave is a dystopian novel.

Sexual content: Kissing.

8 Responses to “Early Review: Enclave by Ann Aguirre (Razorland #1)”

  1. Karen says:

    I loved this one so much. I read it months ago but I’m still thinking about all the characters. I can’t wait for Outpost!

  2. Liz. R says:

    I’m really looking forward to this one! Thanks for the review – I’m definitely pushing this up on my to-read list.

  3. Julie says:

    Wow! The buzz surrounding this book is HUGE! I think I’m actually going to pick it up! Very nice review!

  4. julie says:

    great review and i loved this book.

  5. Kristin says:

    Glad you liked this one! I loved it too~

  6. Smash Attack says:

    “their fight to stay human is utterly gripping” – MUST read this one!

  7. De Prience says:

    hi buddy, Enclave is really fantastic, awesome. By the way enjoy it……love it. Hopefully everyone enjoy a lot. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

logo
logo
Powered by WordPress | Designed by Elegant Themes