Early Review: Fury by Rachel Vincent (Menagerie #3)


Fury by Rachel Vincent (Menagerie #3) // VBC ReviewFury (Menagerie #3)
Rachel Vincent
Published: Oct. 30, 2018 (MIRA)
Purchase: Book Depository or Amazon
Review Source: Copy provided by the publisher in exchange for and honest review

Reviewed by: Amy

Rating (out of 5): 4.5 stars

Note: While this review will be spoiler free, it will reference previous books. If you haven’t started this series yet, check out VBC’s review of book 1, Menagerie.

August 24, 1986—fourteen-year-old Rebecca Essig decided to come home early from a sleepover. It is the day she discovered two of her younger siblings brutally murdered, the act apparently committed by her parents. As the tragedy begins to unfold in the news and on television, Rebecca realizes, besides an unknown number of six years olds, she is one of the only survivors.

August 24, 1986 is the day of the Reaping. The day that changed everything between cryptids and humans.

In present day, pregnant Delilah Marlow, Gallagher, and the rest of the escapees from Vandekamp’s Savage Spectacle are on the run. Hiding out trying to find and rescue other survivors from the Spectacle, all while contending with rising tensions after a series of brutal massacres begin happening throughout the country and humans look to place blame on the cryptids.

The time has come for Delilah Marlow to play her true role in the war between humans and cryptids. The reason why the furiae, Justice, chose her, and it’s all tied up in Delilah’s past.

Time and again, Rachel Vincent has utterly surprised me in terms of the road this series has travelled and that is still certainly the case with Fury. Alternating between 1986 and present day, there’s really a sense of everything coming full-circle, not just in terms of Delilah’s story arc, but with that of the persecuted cryptids, it’s all intrinsically linked. I loved the unfolding of the mystery of the 1986 Reaping from Rebecca’s perspective. Seeing the moments when fear got the better of people and that, in turn, leading to things like the Menagerie and Spectacle. It also makes you equally wonder if society can ever come back from the Reaping. Can people ever heal and move forward?

I’m a little on the fence in all the ways Delilah’s (and subsequently the other cryptids with her) story is wrapped up. It’s not a book that gives everything to the reader in a nice, neat package with a bow for sure, but then again, that’s never really been the tone of this series in the first place. But there were definitely some story threads that crossed over from Spectacle (i.e. the big change in the Delilah and Gallagher relationship and everything that surrounds that certain event) that I felt like they were just checked off a to-do list. Most of the focus is put on Delilah figuring out what role she, and the furiae, play in everything.

I did like how said role hearkens back to the very beginning of the series making it feel very organic in the way it unfolds. I’ve appreciated that it never felt like Rachel Vincent held back in this series, from showing the beautiful and grotesque, as well as the disturbing and painful, she was never afraid to take risks or sacrifice and that is especially true with Fury. It’s definitely been a book and series that I’ve kept thinking about long after I’ve finished reading.

Trigger warnings: recalled sexual trauma, relayed scenes of violence

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Powered by WordPress | Designed by Elegant Themes
Malcare WordPress Security