logo

If You Like The Naked Werewolf… Read Midnight Liaisons (And a Giveaway!)

logo

If You Like... feature at Vampire Book ClubI have to say, vamps are not my favorite flavor of supernatural creature (Merit and Company excepted, of course). So finding books that feature shifters or witches or just plain other can be a bit of a challenge sometimes. [Ed. Note: Not everyone can love vampires as much as Chelsea does… we suppose.]

When I first read the title of Molly Harper’s How to Flirt With a Naked Werewolf, I had to read it. And I was soooo glad I did. Mo was a smart, snarky heroine who didn’t take anyone’s crap. Cooper, an exiled Alpha, gets one sniff of her and knows it’s love. But he’s trying to keep his werewolf side under wraps—because the small community of Grundy, Alaska, doesn’t know shifters exist. It was funny, sexy (verra sexy) and a great twist on the whole fish out of water scenario. Harper followed it up with the equally awesome The Art of Seducing a Naked Werewolf and then…nothing. Nothing until December 2013, when How to Run With a Naked Werewolf was released.

What was a girl to do when she needed her funny shifter fix?

Read the Midnight Liaisons series, of course.

Starting with Beauty Dates the Beast, these books are funny, sexy (VERRA sexy) and, yup, definitely fish out of water. Bathsheba’s a human surrounded by shifters who are trying to keep the whole “shifter” thing on the down low. It doesn’t help matters that her sister, Sara, is a werewolf hiding in plain sight…and who knows what the hell Ryder is. Beau Russell’s an alpha and the leader of the Paranormal Alliance, and he’s determined to protect Bath from all the scary things the world has to offer—when he’s not trying to seduce her out of her pants.

Beauty Dates the Beast by Jessica SimsI love good snark, and both Harper and Sims have it in spades. Their heroines are intelligent and perfectly capable of taking care of themselves and getting out of any scrapes they get into. Mo and Maggie (the new alpha of the Grundy pack) both find themselves somewhat isolated – Mo as a human surrounded by a wolf pack, Maggie as a female alpha—and it leads to some insecurities. Bath is surrounded by shifters, at work and at home, and Sara’s a lone werewolf in the Paranormal Alliance, and if that doesn’t yell insecurity, I don’t know what will.

And in both series, there’s an edge of suspense to the stories. Someone’s been biting the unsuspecting citizens of Grundy, and both Mo and Cooper wonder who the culprit might be—and how to catch him before the pack’s existence is leaked. Bath is trying to keep Sara’s shifter nature under wraps, but someone’s figured out there’s a female werewolf hiding in the PA—and they’ll do pretty much anything to find out who it is.

So once you’ve read the three titles available in the Naked Werewolf series, pick up the Midnight Liaisons series—four full-length books and a handful of novellas. Plenty of fun reading to keep you occupied until the next great snarky shifter book arrives.

CONTEST TIME!

Chelsea here. Because I think you might be itching for these Midnight Liaisons books, I’m going to give a set of the first three to one lucky VBC reader. Just fill out the Rafflecopter form below.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

6 Responses to “If You Like The Naked Werewolf… Read Midnight Liaisons (And a Giveaway!)”

  1. Amy says:

    I love Molly Harper! I do love humor and snark in the books I read. It breaks up the more serious side of PNR and UF. Humor is always such a difficult thing to achieve because it’s usually based upon the person(s) reading (or watching a movie, tv, etc.) and their experiences to decide if a situation or dialogue is funny. Molly Harper never lets me down.

    I’ve never read the Midnight Liaisons series but I’ll definitely be picking it up soon. I’m always looking for something fun to read.

    Thanks for the great post!

  2. Amanda says:

    I think you’ll like the Midnight Liaisons series. She gets that balance of funny and emotional just right, and the next thing you know, you’ve read the whole book and you missed dinner 🙂

  3. I’ve read both series and enjoyed them. I only have the last book in the Jessica Sims series to read. I agree if you like one of the other you should enjoy both.

  4. Ang says:

    Love, Love Snark. Totally going tone checking these books out:)

  5. Michelle says:

    Love, love, love all Molly Harper novels and really need my humour fix lately. Jessica Sims sounds like she could be my new candy! Thanks for the recommendation!

  6. I’m so going to have to check these books out! I wonder if our bookstore in town has them…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

logo
logo
Powered by WordPress | Designed by Elegant Themes
WordPress Security