logo

If you like Unholy Ghosts… read Mind Games

logo

If You Like... feature at Vampire Book ClubIf You Like… is a new feature at Vampire Book Club. We take books we’ve said are musts for your to-read pile, and give you related recommendations. Pretty straightforward really. Feel free to leave requests for future suggestions in the comments or send to us on Twitter via @VampBookClub.

We repeatedly sing the praises of Stacia Kane’s Downside Ghosts series. It’s remarkable urban fantasy with plotlines and characters you are guaranteed to have a visceral reaction to — but the big thing we love about it is just how unique the world is in the series.

In the first novel Unholy Ghosts, we learn about this new Orwellian society with the Church of Truth acting as government. Ghosts rose en masse during Haunted Week killing hundreds. Religions fell away as the Church stepped in to banish the ghosts. It’s dark and plenty allegorcial, if you want to go there.

But we’ve said much of this before. There’s a reason Unholy Ghosts and the three current Downside novels often top our recommendations. We also know you’ve listened, which means — what do you read while waiting for Downside 4?

IF YOU LIKE UNHOLY GHOSTS… READ MIND GAMES

Carolyn Crane’s Mind Games is heavy on the psychological suspense, but this novel is great for Downside fans because it’s fantastic urban fantasy with completely new ideas. As we explained in our Mind Games review:

Carolyn Crane is incredibly clever or she’s neurotic. Either way, the result is a creative urban fantasy landscape and the surprisingly purposeful supernatural talent of disillusionment. The disillusionists are overwhelmed by fears — social collapse, self-esteem and disease. With guidance from a highcap, one of many humans with extra mental skills, these people are able to channel their crippling, irrational fears into others. Targeting murderers and the like, the disillusionist team turns the bad guys into hollow shells to be rebuilt as remorseful souls.

As an added bonus, main character Justine has an insane amount of issues. Her phobias can be crippling, and through disillusionment she finds an addictive outlet. Sound like anyone you know? Really, can you imagine if we got Unholy Ghosts’ Chess Putnam and Mind Games’ Justine Jones together? Bloody hell.

Added incentive? Both books made our Best Books of 2010 list.

We’ll make this easy: Order Mind Games from Amazon for $7.99 or for $6.66 (really!) from The Book Depository.

6 Responses to “If you like Unholy Ghosts… read Mind Games”

  1. I am completely on board with this recommendation, but I am going to go the opposite way. I have read, and LOVED, both of Carolyn Crane’s books in The Disillusionists Trilogy so far. I am going to have to read Unholy Ghosts, thanks!

  2. Karen says:

    Like the new feature and I loved The Downside Ghosts series so I will indeed give Mind Games a try. I’ve heard nothing but great things.

  3. Mariya says:

    I read Mind Games and Had started Unholy Ghost and I hate to say that I am having trouble with the book. Maybe it is the world building like in all other books I had trouble with, and I can’t even understand what Terrible is saying half the time. I am halfway through it, so hopefully I will finish it up and give it another try.

    • angie d says:

      I had the same problem with understanding what they were saying. And why did only half the people talk like that? I stuck with it and even read the next two. They get much better and easier to read.

  4. cindyg says:

    I read and loved Stacia Kane’s books; and I’ve purchased Carolyn Crane’s. I haven’t read them yet but I’m looking forward to it. I fine I really enjoy the books you recommend. We have similar tastes in reading material.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention If you like Unholy Ghosts… read Mind Games | Vampire Book Club -- Topsy.com - [...] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Charisse , Vampire Book Club. Vampire Book Club said: IF YOU LIKE...…
  2. Character cagematches? Who should throw down? | Vampire Book Club - [...] cagematches? Who should throw down? By Chelsea, on February 10th, 2011 (Leave a comment) In our If You…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

logo
logo
Powered by WordPress | Designed by Elegant Themes
Malcare WordPress Security