logo

Review: Nightshifted by Cassie Alexander (Nightshifted #1)

logo

Nightshifted by Cassie AlexanderNightshifted (Nightshifted #1)
Cassie Alexander
Published: May 22, 2012 (St. Martin’s Press)
Purchase at: Book Depository or Amazon

Reviewed by: Chelsea

Rating (out of 5): 4 stars

Any author who can weave wit, subversive undertones and clever world building into a novel gets my attention.

Cassie Alexander demanded my attention with Nightshifted. She took a scenario that could become very campy very quickly — namely a nurse working in the supernatural ward of a hospital — and molded it into a tale of self-strength, desperation and noble causes.

Edie works the crappy shift at the bottom-run hospital. She’s new to working on Y4, the secret ward for supernatural types. And she’s only doing to because the beings in charge agreed to keep her drug addict brother clean. Her work there finds her embroiled in vampire affairs, trying to save a child-like vampire girl.

But she’s not doing it because she wants to save the world. Just this one girl. Because something deserves to go right here. Atonement is Edie’s game.

Things on the romance front are awkward for her. She tends to be a one-night-stand type of woman, which is working just fine. Until it isn’t. And she meets a zombie — not the rotting kind, but a kind fireman. And he cares. And maybe she cares. And it’s complicated. And messy.

The merger of dark tone and wry humor make Nightshifted a must read for fans of Jaye Wells, Stacey Jay and Stacia Kane. I’m eager to read the next book, Moonshifted, to see how Edie progresses. (Also, don’t forget you can bid on signed copy of Nightshifted and a signed ARC of Moonshifted in our Books Fighting Cancer event. Auction ends June 23.)

Sexual content: Sex

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

logo
logo
Powered by WordPress | Designed by Elegant Themes