logo

Review: A Brush of Darkness by Allison Pang

logo

A Brush of Darkness by Allison PangA Brush of Darkness
Allison Pang

Published: Jan. 25, 2011 (Pocket)
Purchase at: Book Depository or Amazon

Rating (out of 5): 4.5 stars

A Brush of Darkness is dark, funny, plenty sexy and a little heartbreaking and surprisingly heartwarming. In short, it’s an urban fantasy must-read.

When I first read the back cover copy for A Brush of Darkness, I stopped at the words “miniature unicorn.” Let’s just say I fall firmly on “Team Zombie.” That’s still true, but the perverted magical creature in this novel is a complete delight. He’s tiny but ballsy and can’t seem to keep from playing in Abby’s underwear drawer.

The fact is there are a lot of elements that could make A Brush of Darkness fluffy — faeries, elves, mini  unicorn — but the way this urban fantasy is laid out, you’ll see these beings in a new light. Sometimes cheeky, but nearly always with depth.

Abby’s boss Moira left four months ago with a note telling her to cover things. But this isn’t your standard work relationship. Moira is the faery equivalent of a justice of the peace — helping resolve issues between the Light and Dark paths (think angels and demons) — and mortal Abby is her contracted connection to this world, called a TouchStone. Here’s the thing, though, Abby is brand new to this whole TouchStone thing, and with Moira missing she’s stuck winging it. She doesn’t know about her abilities, what she’s supposed to do and just why Moira would leave her without telling anyone else.

Then Brystion walks in the door. The incubus is in need of help. His sister has gone missing and with Moira gone, too, Abby is his only resource for finding out who has taken her. Abby doesn’t want to deal with the emotional drama of being turned on by the walking sex god, but he’s delicious. To the reader, it’s quickly apparent that he is falling for her and she’s the one making things difficult. And I loved that. Abby’s game for a metaphysical sexual throwdown, but it’s not like she wants to fall for an incubus.

Allison Pang strikes the perfect balance between a dark, edgy plot and laugh-out-loud moments. Readers will be shocked by a heavy emotional blow one moment and uplifted by snappy one-liners the next. It’s a hard thing to do well, and makes A Brush of Darkness a must for fans of Jeaniene Frost and Kim Harrison.

One Night More by Mandy Baxter

7 Responses to “Review: A Brush of Darkness by Allison Pang”

  1. I’m so glad you loved this as much as I did. For such a dark tale, I laughed my A$$ off!

  2. Tami Jackson says:

    I love books with cheeky humor. I will have to add it to my “must read” list. Whoo hoo.

  3. This book ROCKS!!!!! So glad you are in the Fan Club with us :D

  4. Ina says:

    nice!! I’m adding this to my TBR list!

  5. cindyg says:

    Great review…going to purchase my copy now.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Steeplechase, Hurdle, and Point-To-Point Racing | Solar Kits - [...] Review: A Brush of Darkness by Allison Pang | Vampire Book Club [...]
  2. Tweets that mention Review: A Brush of Darkness by Allison Pang | Vampire Book Club -- Topsy.com - [...] This post was mentioned on Twitter by pocketafterdark and Allison Pang, Vampire Book Club. Vampire Book Club said: Review: …
  3. Urban Fantasy Starter Kit: What books would you include? | Vampire Book Club - [...] it’s easy to just suggest the latest and greatest. (My go-to recommendation this week is A Brush of Darkness …
  4. Allison Pang Q&A: A Sliver of Shadow, Phin the Unicorn & more | Vampire Book Club - [...] 12th, 2011 (Leave a comment) When I saw a unicorn on the back cover of Allison Pang’s A Brush …
  5. Top 10 Swoon-Worthy Heroes (2011) | Vampire Book Club - [...] Brystion is an incubus in need of help. Abby is his only option to help find his missing sister. …
  6. Book Bits: Jeaniene Frost, J.R. Ward, Stacia Kane, Allison Pang, Jackie Kessler | Vampire Book Club - [...] Pang excerpt A Sliver of Shadow releases later this month. Given how much I adored the first Abby Sinclair …
  7. Review: A Sliver of Shadow by Allison Pang (Abby Sinclair #2) | Vampire Book Club - [...] Note: While this review does not contain spoilers for A Sliver of Shadow it may make reference to events …
  8. Book Bits: Kelly Meding, JA Saare, Lauren Dane, Allison Pang & more | Vampire Book Club - [...] Pang reflecting on Buffy Author Alison Pang (Brush of Darkness, A Sliver of Shadow) had an interesting post this …
  9. My Favorite Monster with Allison Pang | Vampire Book Club - [...] My Favorite Monster with Allison Pang By Chelsea, on October 29th, 2012 (Leave a comment) From Chelsea/VBC: This …
  10. Review: A Trace of Moonlight by Allison Pang (Abby Sinclair #3) | Vampire Book Club - [...] the earlier Abby Sinclair books—A Brush of Darkness and A Sliver of Shadow—A Trace of Moonlight wasn’t what I …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

logo
logo
Powered by WordPress | Designed by Elegant Themes